Who Done It?

I am a huge mystery lover and have recently indulged in picking up one of the most renown mystery authors, Agatha Christie.

agatha_christie_80This woman was an incredible badass. Excuse the language, but it is literally the best adjective I have in my vocabulary to describe the genius that created Hercule Poirot, Jane Marple, and the husband and wife sleuthing team, Tommy and Tuppence. Christie takes the art of a Who Done It novel and crafts an elegant piece of writing filled with wit and charm. Despite being introduced very quickly to a plethora of characters, I feel as though I know them all!

I began my journey with The Murder at the Vicarage, which is the first in the Miss. Marple series. In an interesting twist, the novel is written from the first-person perspective of the vicar- a mystery that does not follow the actions or point-of-view of the detective! Despite being considered an older mystery novel, I didn’t find the writing style difficult to follow. Passages and language flowed and though the phrases were a bit outdated I was perfectly able to take a gander at their meaning or look them up. With the stress of planning a wedding (7 Weeks!) and the host of spontaneous fires going on in my life I found myself escaping into this novel frequently. It was an absolutely fascinating experience, and one that I plan on repeating over and over again. I can not wait to pick up the next Miss. Marple.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Enjoy what you read? See what else I’m reading on
My Bookshelf
Follow me on Twitter @KeepStride

Popular Posts:

An Inviting Evening– The hell that is inviting people to your wedding

Too Smart for His Own Good– Puppy parenting adventures and advice

If Anything Else Breaks– Some days at the office are super special

Other Sites I Recommend:

The Magical World Of: For the Disney fan in your life. She’s funny, sassy, and you don’t want to miss her March Madness series in the spring.

Abby Has Issues: I have issues, she has issues, and it’s fantastic.

Spoon Shares: Sometimes our issues are more serious and impact the way we live day-to-day. Spoon shares is a great place to share, connect, and learn tips and tricks from others with a variety of maladies.

Leave a Comment

